Bruce Webb Honored with AICPA Gold Medal Award of Distinction


SAN ANTONIO (October 22, 2017) - The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is pleased to announce that Bruce Webb, CPA, is a recipient of the 2017 Gold Medal Award of Distinction.

The Gold Medal Award of Distinction, given since 1944 to CPAs who have made extraordinary contributions to the profession, is the highest accolade the AICPA can bestow. Jack Finning, CPA, CGMA, a member of the awards committee, presented Webb with the award at the fall meeting of the AICPA governing Council.

“Bruce Webb has significantly contributed to the growth and success of the accounting profession throughout his distinguished career,” Finning said. “Bruce is a dedicated and passionate volunteer. His foresight and leadership created significant positive changes in the CPA practice environment, always in support of the public interest and the profession. Bruce applied his expertise to more than 20 volunteer groups during his years of service with the AICPA.”

Webb began his career at McGladrey (now RSM) in 1970 after graduating from Iowa State University. After being an audit partner in their Des Moines, Iowa office, Webb became a partner in the firm’s national office of audit and accounting. In 2007, he became an executive partner in charge of the firm’s national professional standards group – a role he held until 2011.

Webb served as an active member of the AICPA Professional Ethics Executive Committee (PEEC) from 1998 to 2009, serving as its chair from 2003 to 2007. While serving on the PEEC, he also served as member of the AICPA Auditing Standards Board (ASB) from 2000 to 2003, and he was ASB Chair from 2012 to 2015. During his term as Chair of ASB, Bruce led the AICPA Audit Issues Task Force. He also served on the Center for Audit Quality’s Professional Practice Executive Committee from 2008 to 2012 and began Chairing the AICPA Assurance Research Advisory Group in 2016.

Webb is a member (emeritus) of the Dean’s Advisory Council for the College of Business at Iowa State University.

A list of previous recipients is available on the AICPA’s Gold Medal awards page.