AICPA Funds 27 Minority Doctoral Fellowships to Promote Diversity in Higher Education

The AICPA Foundation awarded exemplary minority students a total of $318,000

October 5, 2017

NEW YORK (October 5, 2017) – The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is pleased to announce the 27 recipients of the 2017-2018 Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students. The program aims to increase the number of minority CPAs teaching in the classroom across the country. Each fellowship recipient will receive funding in recognition of their strong leadership skills and their commitment to education in the accounting profession.

“One of the best ways to foster increased diversity in the accounting profession is by working to increase the number of diverse faculty in the classroom,” said Randy Fletchall, CPA and president of the AICPA Foundation Board of Trustees. “This fellowship allows doctoral students with diverse backgrounds and different perspectives to pursue careers in academia and ultimately serve as role models and mentors to students.”

The 2017-2018 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients are listed below in alphabetical order along with the doctoral program they are currently attending: 

  • Joye L. (Baugh) Norwood, Jackson State University
  • Candice Boucree, Louisiana State University
  • Ryan C. Ballestero, University of Texas-Austin
  • Jerome D. Conley, University of Tennessee
  • LaToya Flint, University of Mississippi
  • Danielle Gant, Texas Tech University
  • Claudia C. Hernandez, Florida International University               
  • Chevonne Alston (Herring), University of Mississippi
  • Andria Hill, University of Central Florida
  • Ethan LaMothe, University of South Carolina
  • Carissa Malone, Virginia Tech University
  • Sydnee Manley, University of Mississippi
  • Christina Ruiz Mueller, Arizona State University 
  • Ann Mungai, Florida Atlantic University
  • Patricia Navarro-Velez, University of Central Florida
  • Clay Partridge, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Christian  S. Paparcuri, Arizona State University 
  • Iguehi Rajsky, Temple University
  • Edgar Rodriguez, University of Washington
  • Giovani Rodriguez Martinez, Texas Tech University
  • Andrea Rozario, Rutgers University
  • Nuria Seijas, University of Arizona
  • Syrena Shirley, Pennsylvania State University
  • Justin C. Short, University of Tennessee
  • Phylicia G. Taylor, Jackson State University
  • Andrea Tillet, Florida State University
  • Kimberly Walker, University of Wisconsin-Madison


All Minority Doctoral Fellowship applicants must be ethnic minorities and citizens or permanent residents of the U.S. They must also have earned a master’s degree or completed at least 3 years of full-time experience in the accounting profession. In addition, they must plan to pursue a CPA license.

The 2018-19 application will be available on March 1st, 2018. For a full list of requirements, visit AICPA’s website.

The Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students is one of AICPA’s numerous initiatives to promote increased diversity and an inclusive environment in the accounting profession. More information about these efforts, as well as tools and resources for accounting firms and CPAs, is available on the AICPA website.

For more information about the Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students and other scholarship awards offered to accounting students, visit ThisWaytoCPA.

The Minority Doctoral Fellowships are funded by the AICPA Foundation.