AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award

About the Award

The AICPA Outstanding Young CPA Award in Honor of Maximo Mukelabai recognizes a young CPA who personifies an unwavering commitment as demonstrated through successful practices, involvement in and contributions for the interest of the accounting profession.

We strongly recommend you have the letters of recommendation completed by your employer, state CPA society or affiliate membership organization representative, or community service organization or other professional relationship.

Application criteria

  • Be a licensed CPA between the ages of 22-40 at time of application
  • Be a regular member of the AICPA

In honor of Maximo Mukelabai

Maximo Mukelabai was a member of the inaugural class of the AICPA Leadership Academy in 2009. Tragically, Maximo's life ended abruptly at the age of 36. He was an extraordinary individual filled with passion, intellect and inspiration; traits immediately recognized by anyone who met him.

Maximo's most recent accomplishment was made official on May 4, 2011 when he became the youngest and first African-American chair for the North Carolina Association of CPAs board of directors. Maximo's influence and leadership was felt by so many and he is sorely missed.

Previous award winners

David Almonte - 2022 recipient

Favor Lee - 2022 recipient

Dr. Adrian L. Mayse - 2022 recipient

Kenneth Omoruyi - 2022 recipient

Alexandria Romero - 2022 recipient

Dr. Sean Stein Smith - 2022 recipient

Jaclyn T. Badeau - 2021 recipient

Aaron Clayton - 2021 recipient

Jessica E. McClain - 2021 recipient

Erin E. Roche - 2021 recipient

Osei Sencherey - 2021 recipient

Joseph Rugger - 2020 recipient

Elizabeth Pittelkow Kittner - 2019 recipient

Matthew Rosenberg - 2018 recipient

Lindsay Stevenson - 2017 recipient

Danielle Supkis Cheek - 2016 recipient

Dan Griffiths - 2015 recipient

Mark K. Rich - 2014 recipient

Jeremy Dillard - 2013 recipient

Donny Shimamoto - 2012 recipient