

AICPA Peer Review Board November 14, 2014 Conference Call Open Session Meeting Highlights

Meeting Participants

Board Members

Anita Ford, Chair James Clausell Michael A. Fawley Lawrence Gray Richard W. Hill Karen Kerber Michael LeBlanc Toni Lee-Andrews G. Alan Long Michael McNichols Andrew Pope Thad E. Porch Robert Rohweder Keith Rowden Debra Seefeld Todd Shapiro Tom Whittle III

AICPA Staff

Fran McClintock, Staff Liaison Jim Brackens Melissa Dunn Kim Ellis Gary Freundlich Tim Kindem Sue Lieberum Carl Mayes LaVonne Montague Maria Navarro Karl Ruben Beth Thoresen Nicole Welman

<u>Absent</u>

Rich Jones

Guests Participating Via Telephone See Exhibit 1

Purpose of the Meeting

Scheduled meeting to review and discuss proposed guidance related to the Enhancing Quality initiative and other topics. Ms. Ford called the meeting to order at 1:00pm ET. The meeting was adjourned at 2:55pm ET.

Discussion Points

1.1 Welcome Attendees and Roll Call

Ms. McClintock conducted the roll call of the board and guests. Ms. Ford called the open session to order and welcomed the existing and new Peer Review Board (PRB) members and all participants. Ms. Ford also reminded participants that the AICPA is seeking candidates to join the PRB in the coming year.

The agenda order was re-arranged to discuss the (agenda item 1.4) Reviewer Performance Exposure Draft prior to all other agenda items. Mr. Brackens provided an overview of the AICPA's Enhancing Audit Quality initiative and the relationship to the performance and consecutive non-passing reports agenda items.

1.2 Approve Revisions to Guidance on Consecutive Non-passing Reports

Mr. Parry presented the proposed revisions to guidance on consecutive non-passing reports. Discussion ensued among the PRB and other participants. The guidance was clarified to indicate the expectation for a peer review committee assessment for presumptive referral of the firm after receiving the second consecutive non-pass report, and a mandatory referral to the board after the third consecutive non-pass report to determine if the firm's enrollment should be terminated. The effective date of the guidance was discussed but remained as proposed to be effective for initial non-pass reports accepted after January 1, 2015. Participating administrators mentioned concerns about the impact on Engagement Reviews and concerns about re-enrollment after the firm is terminated. It was recommended that staff consider additional conforming changes and suggestions to lessen the impact on administrators dealing with impacted firms. Revision was requested to change the RAB Handbook layout to more clearly indicate that the firm will receive a notification about the noncooperation provisions after the first non-pass report.

Decisions, Next Steps and Action Items:

• All materials within the agenda topic (1.2 A-E) were approved with the clerical revisions and the conforming changes discussed.

1.3 Approve Exposure Draft on Preparation of F/S Performed under SSARS and the Impact on the Scope of Peer Review

Mr. Parry presented the proposed the Exposure Draft on Preparation of F/S Performed under SSARS and the Impact on the Scope of Peer Review.

Decisions, Next Steps and Action Items:

• Exposure Draft on Preparation of F/S Performed under SSARS and the Impact on the Scope of Peer Review was approved as presented.

1.4 Approve Exposure Draft on Reviewer Performance

Mr. Parry presented the proposed Exposure Draft on Reviewer Performance. Discussion ensued regarding certain areas for administrative monitoring of the new requirements, communications, PRISM and the effective date of the specialized training requirement.

Decisions, Next Steps and Action Items:

• Exposure Draft on Reviewer Performance and the related Peer Review Alert was approved as presented.

1.5 Discuss Updated Statistics on the DOL Project

Ms. Lieberum provided an update on the DOL project. Firms that were not enrolled or signed a no A&A letter were referred to Ethics. If Ethics concludes that the firm intentionally misrepresented their A&A practice, then the responsible AICPA member will be expelled from the AICPA. If Ethics concludes that the misrepresentation was unintentional then the AICPA member will be suspended for 2 years. In addition to AICPA publication, Sue Coffey will send a letter to the individual's state board of accountancy about the situation.

Replacement reviews are currently being scheduled and performed. Pass reports on replacement reviews are being subjected to AICPA staff oversight. Approximately 250 firms were unable to be identified during the project and letters are being sent to the firm requesting a response within 15 days. If the firm does not respond, the AICPA will send a letter to the appropriate state board of accountancy. Approximately 20 reviewers have been restricted due to their firm omitting ERISAs from its peer review.

Decisions, Next Steps and Action Items:

• None

1.6 Future Open Session Meetings

Ms. Thoresen noted the dates of the future open session meetings:

- A. January 27, 2015 Open Session Puerto Rico
- B. May 5, 2015 Open Session Durham, NC
- C. August 5, 2015 Open Session New Orleans, LA
- D. September 22, 2015 Open Session Conference Call

Exhibit 1: Peer Review Board Open Session AICPA Peer Review Board Meeting

Participants for Peer Review Board Open Session November 14, 2014

| Name | Organization |
|-------------------------|--|
| 1. Cheryl Hartfield | Thomson Reuters |
| 2. Stacey Lockwood | LCPA |
| 3. Judy Chaplin | Iowa Society of CPAs |
| 4. Mary Beth Halpern | МАСРА |
| 5. Julie Salvaggio | Kentucky Society of CPAs |
| 6. Wendy Garvin | TN Society of CPAs |
| 7. Patty Hurley | OK Society of CPAs |
| 8. Phyllis Barker | Oregon Society of CPAs |
| 9. Nichole Favors | Indiana CPA Society |
| 10. Paul Pierson | Illinois CPA Society |
| 11. Ellen Adkins | SC Board of Accounting |
| 12. Beth Lyons | Mass. Society of CPAs |
| 13. Gloria Snyder | LCPA |
| 14. Faye Hayhurst | Minnesota Society of CPAs |
| 15. Jeffrey Greene | UHY LLP |
| 16. Gerard Stifter | Minnesota Society of CPAs - Technical Reviewer |
| 17. Daniel Weaver | Texas State Board of Public Accountancy |
| 18. Ryan Murnick | Illinois CPA Society |
| 19. Michael Jack | D Michael Jack CPA |
| 20. Rita Barnard | KSCPA |
| 21. James Rensi | Luderman & Konst, Inc. |
| 22. Bill Bailey | US Dept of Labor |
| 23. W. Barclay Bradshaw | L.P. Martin & Company, P.C. |
| 24. Sharon Romere-Nix | Thomson Reuters |
| 25. Dana Paehlig | State of MI |
| 26. Thomas Kirwin | Sullivan Bille PC |
| 27. Peggy Jury | MICPA |
| 28. Edward Mann | E. L. MANN, PC |
| 29. Erica Forhan | Moss Adams LLP |
| 30. Jerry Cross | TSCPA |
| 31. Linda McCrone | Calif Soc of CPAs |
| 32. Dipesh Patel | TSCPA |
| 33. Alan Grothe | Alan L. Grothe, CPA, LLC |
| 34. Jerry Hill | Texas State Board of Public Accountancy |
| 35. Alex Schillaci | Deloitte & Touche LLP |